White Chicken Chili

Easy to make, flavorful and filling too, your whole family will enjoy this White Chicken Chili, perfect for over-scheduled days or when you just need a break from the kitchen. #chili #dinner #chicken

If you missed my Instagram post this week I shared that I’m taking on a new adventure and teaching dance for the kids in our homeschool co-op.  While I’m a little scared at all of the details required for teaching dance, my heart sings to be able to step back out on the floor of the studio with my ballet shoes and feel the music down through my toes.  Like I shared last week, whenever I sit and watch a dance performance it’s almost as if my body craves to be on stage dancing that I actually feel my legs move to the choreography.  That may be a little bit weird but when your soul expresses itself through dancing, it never forgets it’s true love.

Admittedly, I have slacked on my exercising over the past few months.  I definitely need to get back into shape.  And it’s a liiiiiiiitle bit harder to hold my leg up to my head like I used to. A few extra stretching sessions are on my to-do list.  Admittedly, this is a big change for me.

Change is hard, isn’t it?  I feel pushback at every turn.  The voices in my head are full of doubts and fears that nobody’s ever said to me.  They’re just the resistance my mind has created, which makes them untrue.

But here’s the trick I found: acknowledge the thought and then dismiss it as untrue.  

Because I know that if I accept those negative thoughts into my head, they will keep repeating themselves until I believe they’re true.  And then I’m living in a lie.  Of my own doing.

But the more you dismiss the thoughts, the less they come around until you’re living in your true reality, without any false pretenses.  And real freedom allows you to boldly and confidently move in the direction of change without fear.

You’re probably saying about this time, “what in the world does this have to do with White Chicken Chili”?  And you’re right.  This really has nothing to do with the recipe below, but I felt compelled to share some life lessons for someone out there reading that really needs to hear it today.

So, on with the recipe!

Easy to make, flavorful and filling too, your whole family will enjoy this White Chicken Chili, perfect for over-scheduled days or when you just need a break from the kitchen. #chili #dinner #chicken

This White Chicken Chili came purely out of a desire to get something delicious on the table on a day with a full schedule of activities.  Admittedly, this isn’t Paleo because of the addition of corn and beans, but as I’ve said in the past, I lean more towards a majority Paleo diet with some leanings in the way of other whole foods God created for us.  These include beans, potatoes, rice and corn.  Not to say that I encourage you to eat them everyday but, if you can tolerate them, you’ll receive a ton of vitamins and essential nutrients from those foods.

Maybe I’m not so much Paleo anymore?  Maybe not.  Maybe change is in the air?  Maybe.  Regardless of what recipes I post, rest assured it will all be in the spirit of healthy meals for the family with a strong emphasis on whole foods.

The beauty of this recipe is if you are 100% Paleo this is still the recipe for you!  Make adjustments, leave out ingredients, add some in – let’s all be more flexible in our kitchens to cater to our family’s tastes and diets.  The star of the recipe is the broth – full of spice and flavor.  This would make a great chicken avocado soup with an addition of veggies.

You could also use this mouth-watering shredded chicken on tacos or a sweet potato or squash or in a spaghetti squash casserole.  Your options are limitless.  Go crazy!

White Chicken Chili
Author: Christine @ The Paleo Baker
Prep time: 10 mins
Cook time: 8 hours
Total time: 8 hours 10 mins
Serves: 6
Ingredients
  • 2 boneless/skinless chicken breasts
  • 2 Tbs butter or ghee
  • 1 tsp chili powder
  • 2 tsp cumin
  • 1 pinch crushed red pepper
  • 1 1/2 tsp Celtic Sea salt
  • 1/2 tsp pepper
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 tsp onion powder
  • 4 cups water
  • 1 cup coconut milk
  • optional: corn, cilantro, avocado, white beans
Instructions
  1. Add all ingredients into a crockpot and cook on low for 6-8 hours or high for 4-5.
  2. At the end of the cooking time, shred the chicken and add it back to the soup.
  3. Serve and enjoy! It’s that easy!

Inspired by Health Starts In The Kitchen

Easy to make, flavorful and filling too, your whole family will enjoy this White Chicken Chili, perfect for over-scheduled days or when you just need a break from the kitchen. #chili #dinner #chicken

One Comment Add yours

  1. This is perfect for a weeknight dinner on a chilly fall night! I love chili, but I have never tried white chili! Cant wait to!

Leave a Reply

