Tandoori-Spiced Chicken

Fragrant and flavorful, Tandoori-Spiced Chicken is a quick and easy dinner recipe! #paleo #scd #chicken #spice

I first discovered my addiction to spices as I was packing up my kitchen for our move a few years ago.  Naively grabbing a small box, I set off to attempt to pack up my spice cabinet as quickly as I could and move on to larger, more substantial pieces that needed to be packed.  However, five minutes into trying to arrange a hundred billion jars of spices, extracts and sprinkles and I knew my love of spices was a little more serious than holding hands in a movie theater.  This was a full-blown romance and I wasn’t about to let anything get in the way.

My spices made it safely to their new home (after hunting for a larger box) and now hold a special place in my new kitchen.  In fact, I can’t think of a single recipe I’ve made where I didn’t add a little this, a pinch of that to enhance it’s flavor.  That’s why recipes like this Tandoori-Spiced Chicken are one of my favorites.

The crazy combination of spices in this dish give the chicken such a depth of flavor: from sweet to spicy to savory and even a hint of refreshingly cool with the mint.  This is not a dish to grab on the run or even, dare I say it, while talking with friends.  This chicken needs to be eaten in reverent silence, to let the juices flow down your chin, chewing almost in slow motion to allow your brain to catch up with your tastebuds and then tell you to eat more of this NOW.

Fragrant and flavorful, Tandoori-Spiced Chicken is a quick and easy dinner recipe! #paleo #scd #chicken #spice

And the best part?  Even my teenager could make this recipe.  It’s super simple: just throw the spices into a ziploc bag with the chicken and let it marinate and soak in all of the flavor before quickly broiling it on each side.  Time to eat.  Done.  It could even be made ahead to give it extra time to soak in the spices and marinade.  Oh, can you imagine the flavor fireworks that would explode?  I’m done.

For the SCD-ers, I used homemade goat’s milk yogurt as the marinade base.  It brought a subtle tartness and the perfect thickness to keep the juices of the chicken in while broiling.  For the Paleo-ites, feel free to use any kind of yogurt you can tolerate, just make sure it’s nice and thick.  You want the chicken so moist it falls off the bone.  Yum.

I love to see your recreations of my recipes!  Don’t forget to tag me @paleobaker on Instagram!

Tandoori-Spiced Chicken
Author: Christine @ The Paleo Baker
Prep time: 5 mins
Cook time: 16 mins
Total time: 21 mins
Serves: 4
Ingredients
  • [i]For the spice paste:[/i]
  • 1 large garlic clove, minced
  • 1 small serrano pepper, minced
  • 1 1/2 tsp Celtic Sea salt
  • 2 Tbs dairy-free yogurt (I used goat’s milk yogurt)
  • 2 Tbs honey
  • 1 Tbs lemon juice
  • 2 tsp fresh ginger
  • 1 1/2 tsp ground coriander seeds
  • 3/4 tsp turmeric
  • 1/2 tsp ground cumin
  • 12 tsp ground black pepper
  • 1/4 tsp grated nutmeg
  • 1/8 tsp ground cloves
  • 1/8 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 8 pieces of chicken, legs and thighs
  • coconut oil, for greasing the pan
  • [i]For the yogurt sauce:[/i]
  • 1/2 cup dairy-free yogurt (I used goat’s milk yogurt)
  • 1 tsp lemon juice
  • 1/4 cup fresh mint leaves, chopped
  • pinch of cayenne pepper
Instructions
[i]For the spice paste:[/i]
  1. Add all ingredients in a small bowl and stir to combine.
  2. Add chicken and spice paste in a ziploc bag, rubbing spices into the chicken, and place in the refrigerator for at least 30 mins to marinate.
  3. Preheat broiler and line a broiler pan with foil. Grease foil with coconut oil. Arrange chicken on the pan without crowding. Broil chicken until lightly browned, about 8 mins on each side, or until juices run clear.
[i]For the yogurt sauce:[/i]
  1. Mix all ingredients in a small bowl and serve on the side.
Fragrant and flavorful, Tandoori-Spiced Chicken is a quick and easy dinner recipe! #paleo #scd #chicken #spice
Leave a Reply

