Pork Tenderloin with Peach Mint Sauce

Simple and flavorful, this Pork Tenderloin with Peach Mint Sauce is a winner for dinner! SCD and Paleo approved! #paleo #scd #pork #sauce

Life lately has been full of ups and downs, filled calendars and big adjustments.  The biggest source of stress has been my health, so I decided to make an appointment with a naturopath to give me a black and white answer on what’s exactly wrong with me and why I was still having multiple health issues.  I have been running myself ragged researching different symptoms, possibilities of a diagnosis and testing multiple treatments without really knowing what would work and what I was wasting money on.

I was surprised by some diagnoses and nodded my head in agreement with others.  After careful testing, my naturopath gave me a few herbs to detox and instructed me to start on the Specific Carbohydrate Diet.  This diet is created by Dr. Elaine Gottschall, who wrote the book, “Breaking the Vicious Cycle”.  She successfully healed her daughter of a debilitating attack of ulcerative colitis by using the diet, which is based on the GAPS protocol.  The goal is to heal the gut enough where one can once again eat foods they haven’t been able to for so long.

Admittedly, I was a little hesitant because it’s such a restricting diet.  What would my family eat?  Where would I go out to eat?  Am I going to starve and waste away to nothing?  (okay, that one may be a bit dramatic)  But I was desperate and miserable, so I decided to just dive in head first.  It turns out that after only 15 days on the diet, my stomach has never looked or felt better.  After a checkup with the doctor today, my areas of dysfunction are quickly returning to normal.

If you’re treading water and just barely getting by on your own battling with your body, I highly urge you to contact a qualified naturopath and, if necessary, start the Specific Carbohydrate Diet.  It has changed my life!

But before you say, “But, wait a minute.  I read the blog for Paleo recipe ideas.  What gives?”  Well, when I’m done with the SCD I fully intend to keep eating Paleo because I believe that strongly in it.  It cuts out carbs, gluten, sugar and a lot of dairy that is still detrimental to our health.  I believe that in order to maintain good health we should all be eating more of a meat and plant-based diet.  Highly-processed foods are not going to take stock in my pantry.  Instead, fruits, vegetables, organic meats and nuts will still rule the kitchen.

So many of the recipes I post will now be not only Paleo, but also SCD-compliant.  Like this one, for Pork Tenderloin with Peach Mint Sauce.

Simple and flavorful, this Pork Tenderloin with Peach Mint Sauce is a winner for dinner! SCD and Paleo approved! #paleo #scd #pork #sauceThis is a simple recipe but one full of flavor!  The pork tenderloin is baked with just salt and pepper, but when done right, it shines all by itself.  In fact, my little A even said it was the best dinner ever (of course, she is only four and tends to be a little bit dramatic, but it was still a nice ego boost).  The sauce is a simple recipe made with fresh ingredients: peaches, cinnamon, lemon juice and a sprig of peppermint from my backyard garden.  This is definitely a meal that’s easy to make on a weeknight for the family.  Simple and flavorful, this Pork Tenderloin with Peach Mint Sauce is a winner for dinner!

Simple and flavorful, this Pork Tenderloin with Peach Mint Sauce is a winner for dinner! SCD and Paleo approved! #paleo #scd #pork #sauce

Pork Tenderloin with Peach Mint Sauce
Author: Christine @ The Paleo Baker
Prep time: 10 mins
Cook time: 25 mins
Total time: 35 mins
Serves: 4
Ingredients
  • 1 pork tenderloin, fat trimmed
  • 2 peaches, skin removed, diced
  • 1 sprig of mint
  • 1/2 tsp lemon juice
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
Instructions
  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Preheat pan on medium heat. Season pork tenderloin on each side with salt and pepper. When the pan is hot, sear each side of the tenderloin until brown. Once properly seared, remove from the pan and place into a baking dish. Place in the oven and bake for 25 mins, or until internal temperature reaches 150 degrees.
  2. While tenderloin is cooking, dice the peaches. Add the peaches, mint, lemon juice and cinnamon in a small food processor and blend until smooth.
  3. When the tenderloin is cooked, let rest for 5 minutes on a cutting board. Once rested, cut and serve with the sauce.

 

 

Simple and flavorful, this Pork Tenderloin with Peach Mint Sauce is a winner for dinner! SCD and Paleo approved! #paleo #scd #pork #sauce
Leave a Reply

