Eggplant Tapenade

Eggplant Tapanade

The past few weeks I’ve been attempting my first Whole30 program with my sister without totally losing my mind.  First of all, I should’ve just bought a pet chicken ’cause the amount of eggs I’ve eaten could feed a small village for a month.  All I can say is thank God for Costco.

The Whole30 program and a Paleo diet aren’t that much different from each other.  I mean, I figured all I had to do was stop eating any sweet stuff (syrup, honey, Stevia) and cut out my almond and coconut flour for a month and I would be feeling and looking a million times better.  I was totally naive.  I had no idea that this also meant I couldn’t have my tea (no Stevia), I couldn’t eat my beloved goat cheese (no dairy) and anything remotely resembling a carb was out of the question.  The Whole30 is a diet of deprivation!  And it is no fun.

And, to be honest, I haven’t seen any results.  Wah.

But on the bright side my grocery carts have been filled with some good wholesome produce.  At least that’s what I tell myself as I pass the Enjoy Life Chocolate Chips in the baking aisle.

My willpower is fading.  FAST.  Has anyone else tried the Whole30 and had less than noticeable results?

So, while I’m in the midst of a whine-fest for all the foods I miss, I decided to try a vegetable I’ve never eaten before.  Have you tried eggplants?  Am I the only one missing out?

I’ve actually been craving hummus, like, forever and my local store had a BOGO sale so, of course, I stocked up – the day before starting my diet.  So now my hummus is all neatly stacked up in the frig taunting me when I open the door.  But I’m fighting through and remembered an alternative solution, using eggplants, called baba ganoush, that I figured would curb that craving and taste really good at the same time.

Being that I was encouraged to eat as many black olives as I could on the diet (yes, please!) this is a perfect opportunity to make my own dip to use with the truckload of fresh vegetables in my kitchen. (Seriously, I have enough to open up my own roadside farmer’s stand)

Smooth and creamy, speckled with black olive goodness, this Eggplant Tapenade recipe fits the bill for healthy, low-carb, Paleo and Whole30 menus.  Packed with fiber and antioxidants, we’re getting all sorts of good-for-you stuff while we snack.

And the preparation?  Easy.  (If you haven’t noticed, I’m all about quick and easy recipes lately)  After roasting the eggplant in the oven for 35 minutes, just peel and pop it into a food processor for a few minutes and you’ll be snacking in no time.

Eggplant Tapenade
Author: Christine @ The Paleo Baker
Prep time: 5 mins
Cook time: 35 mins
Total time: 40 mins
Serves: 4
Ingredients
  • 1 eggplant
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 1 Tbs lemon juice
  • 1/4 cup pitted black olives
  • 2 Tsp extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1/2 tsp cumin
  • salt and pepper to taste
Instructions
  1. To roast the eggplant: preheat the oven to 400 degrees. Prick the skin several times with a fork and place it into a shallow dish. Roast in the oven for 35 minutes.
  2. When done, place the eggplant in a bowl of cold water and let sit. After a few minutes, you should be able to peel the skin off easily.
  3. Place the skinless roasted eggplant into a food processor along with the rest of the ingredients and mix for 1-2 minutes, or until your desired consistency.

 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Kristen {good habits and guilty pleasures} says:

    I bet this flavor combination is to die for! I’ve had a craving for eggplant lately for some odd reason and this recipe will have to be tried soon. Thanks for sharing!

    1. Christine says:

      Please let me know if you try it! I’d love to know what you think! Thanks for reading!

      1. L Pepper says:

        Christine, what in the world can you use to dip?? Anything besides carrots and zucchini?? I miss the crunch of a cracker!!

      2. Christine says:

        I’m so with you! My usual standby are carrots, but you could always try zucchini chips. Or you could try it on a pizza or roll it up with some meat and veggies in a paleo wrap or even use it with zucchini noodles for a “pasta” meal!

Leave a Reply

