Digestive Detox Smoothie

Green Detox Smoothie

You know what I love most about spring?  The days when the temperature rises above 80 degrees.  I get a chance to break out the shorts and be horrified at how pale my legs look and daydream about summer.

You know what I hate about spring?  How horrible I feel after recovering from the holidays.  And this year I still couldn’t shake it after three months of watching my diet and exercising.  So my sister and I decided that we would support each other by breaking from our regular Paleo diet and take the plunge with a Whole30 challenge.   This is my first and the second for my sister so I figured she would be a sympathetic ear to my whining and complaining about what I couldn’t eat and all of the temptations around me.

My first course of action was to find recipes that qualified as Whole30 and also met my high standards of taste.  Nom Nom Paleo didn’t disappoint.  So far we’ve tried her Cracklin’ Chicken and Bacon Apple Smothered Pork Chops.  Both got rave reviews from the family and will be on our menus way after Whole30 is over.  I also cooked up her Spicy Tuna Cakes, which I’ve been munching on for a few days now.  So, I guess the Whole30 isn’t all that bad, although by the end of 30 days I’m going on an egg strike.

One of my favorite recipes I was able to continue making was my Digestive Detox Smoothie, which makes a great addition to my 30 days from hell Whole30 experience.  This smoothie is PACKED with benefits:

Spinach – packed with fiber, vitamins, and iron

Banana – rich in pectin, helps aid in digestion and rid your body of toxins and heavy metals, high in fiber, a prebiotic

Mango – an antioxidant, helps to alkalize the whole body, improves digestion

Almond Butter – provides fiber, protein, one-quarter of your daily Vitamin E requirements

Chia Seeds – loaded with antioxidants, high in fiber and protein

Coconut Water – “nature’s Gatorade”, it provides electrolytes, calcium, sodium and potassium

As an added benefit, I’ve added dandelion root to my Digestive Detox Smoothie to help cleanse my liver, which is part of my annual detox routine.  Dandelion Root gets out any residual “junk” and helps clean my entire digestion system, from my liver, kidneys to my gut.

So maybe I’m not suffering all that much on my Whole30 diet.  This smoothie definitely helps to make the dietary restrictions well worth it.

Green Detox Smoothie
Author: Christine @ The Paleo Baker
Prep time: 5 mins
Total time: 5 mins
Serves: 2
Ingredients
  • 1 cup spinach
  • 1 banana, sliced
  • 1 mango, peeled and sliced
  • 1 Tbs almond butter
  • 1/2 cup coconut water
  • 1 Tbs chia seeds
  • Optional: dried Dandelion Root
Instructions
  1. Add the spinach, banana, mango, almond butter and coconut water into a blender and blend until smooth.
  2. Stir in the chia seeds and additional herbs, if using.
  3. Find a sunny spot and enjoy!

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. So pretty! Where did you get the cute polka dot straw?

    1. Christine says:

      I got those at Target last year for my daughter’s Elsa birthday party. They have them there this year too in the party supplies in lots of colors.

Leave a Reply

