Tomato Basil and Goat Cheese Breakfast Muffins

Tomato Basil and Goat Cheese Breakfast Muffins

Growing up I wasn’t a big fan of tomatoes.  I grumbled when my mom would make a casserole with those tiny red bits playing hide and seek.  I would pick them out carefully and set them off to the side, far enough away where they wouldn’t touch what was left of the dinner on my plate.  Now, ketchup was different.  You could remind me all day what ketchup was made out of, but add some sugar and puree enough to where it’s unrecognizable from its former self and I was a fan.  Ketchup went on everything.

As I (ahem) aged, I came to appreciate this slightly sweet, classification-confused fruit.  I have even gone so far as to eat them alone – like without anything on them, which is totally the reverse of my previous aversion.  I may have become obsessed.  So much so that when I go to the grocery store, you’ll typically see me smell my tomatoes for ripeness.  The ones without an earthy scent you can pass on.  They were probably grown in a mode that is way outside what nature intended.  I typically buy organic tomatoes since they are the only ones that have that fresh, earthy perfume, and taste just as delicious on the inside – good enough to bite into like an apple.

Tomato Basil and Goat Cheese Breakfast Muffins

When I grocery shop I really drag my feet in the produce section, spending my time carefully analyzing the best picks for our meals.  Maybe it’s the closet gardener in me but I actually enjoy being around the vibrant colors and smells of fresh fruits and vegetables.  When I can fill half my cart with produce before I’ve even hit the aisles I know we’re eating healthy.

When I ran across these sweet Campari tomatoes the other day I knew they would be perfect with some eggs for breakfast.  Bright and soft, they are like little bombs of sweetness in your mouth.  And with an addition of goat cheese and basil, these Tomato Basil and Goat Cheese Breakfast Muffins really wake up your taste buds!

Simple to make, one-bowl wonderful, it’s hard not to eat two or three in one sitting (which is totally just a suggestion and not something that I did yesterday…or this morning….)

Tomato Basil and Goat Cheese Breakfast Muffins
Author: Christine @ The Paleo Baker
Prep time: 5 mins
Cook time: 20 mins
Total time: 25 mins
Serves: 6
Ingredients
  • 3 eggs, whisked
  • 2 Tbs fresh basil, chiffonade style
  • 1/4 cup goat cheese crumbles
  • 6 small Campari tomatoes
  • Salt and Pepper, to taste
Instructions
  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Coat a muffin pan with your choice of oil or bacon grease is awesome.
  2. Add eggs to bowl and whisk. Add basil goat cheese, salt and pepper and stir to combine.
  3. Divide the mixture between six muffin tins, filling each a smidge less than halfway.
  4. Add a tomato into each muffin tin, allowing it to sink to the bottom.
  5. Bake until the eggs are set, about 20 minutes.

 

 

Leave a Reply

