LEMON CUPCAKES (GF, DF, SF, Paleo)

Lemon Cupcakes

Ah, the pitfalls of being a food blogger.  Now, I know you don’t want to hear any sob story today but can I just say, not every recipe turns out!  Admittedly, there have been a few crickets around here for the past couple of weeks.  Not because I didn’t want to post, but because recipe after recipe wouldn’t work.  It’s enough to make you throw in your hat and give up…but I can’t do that.  I love baking and cooking and writing too much to give up now.

In fact, rather than cry about it, I now have the stubborn desire to someday make those failed recipes work.  One of the failed recipes I attempted four times!!! but it’s an old family meal so I’m not giving up on it until it’s perfect.  I don’t give up that easily.

Okay, end of sob story.

So today is Superbowl Sunday…and I don’t have a Superbowl Sunday-worthy recipe for you.  Wanna know why?  Because I pull out all of the unhealthy, cheese-covered, hot-sauce drowned snacks I can think up.  Who wants to munch on carrots sticks while debating the ultimate Superbowl commercial touchdown while packed in a room full of football fans yelling at the television as if they’re life depends on the actions of a few fallible young men?

Besides, this post isn’t even coming out until during the big game.  So I say, if the score remains tied at goose-egg until halftime and the third-quarter lull sets in, get up and make some of these delicious lemon cupcakes!  Oh, but don’t forget to keep an ear out for the commercials!

Have you ever made baked goods with strictly coconut flour?  I have to admit this was my first time.  I normally combine coconut flour with almond flour to make a moist and fluffy cake but this recipe is different.  It’s made purely out of coconut flour and, although I had my doubts, these cupcakes came out fluffy and moist and oh so good!  Lemon is a great addition to coconut flavor, giving these treats a sweet on sweet, but not too sweet, flavor.  Make sense?

And don’t be intimidated with the icing.  Just spoon it into a small ziploc bag, cut off a small corner of the tip and ribbon it around until you have a mountain of sweet glory.  I think we can all agree that the icing is the BEST part of the cupcake.

 

Lemon Cupcakes

LEMON CUPCAKES
Cuisine: GF, DF, SF, Paleo
Author: Christine @ The Paleo Baker
Prep time: 15 mins
Cook time: 20 mins
Total time: 35 mins
Serves: 8
Ingredients
Instructions
[i]For the cake:[/i]
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees and line a muffin tin with eight liners
  2. Combine all of the ingredients and stir until just combined. Careful not to overwork the batter!
  3. Divide the batter evenly between the muffin tins. Bake 20 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean.
[i]For the icing:[/i]
  1. Add all ingredients for the icing into a bowl of a stand mixer or a large mixing bowl.
  2. Using the stand mixer or a hand mixer, beat until smooth.
  3. Add icing into a piping bag with the tip of your choice and pipe onto the cupcakes.

Cupcake recipe adapted from: Empowered Sustenance

Icing recipe adapted from: The Urban Poser

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Jen says:

    Fibgers crossed that the failed recipe is pasties without Crisco!!

    1. Christine says:

      Yes, it is! But I can’t get the crust just right so I may have to be a little more creative.

    2. Circle says:

      Hello! So excited to find your site. We’re tyirng right now and I am reading so much on conventional health sites that warn against seafood, leftovers, beef jerky, salad bars, homemade mayo, over easy eggs, smoked fish and meat, unpasteurized milk or dairy, and reindeer or other game. What have you found in your research? It seems like much of this advice is against the Paleo lifestyle. I am new to this philosophy and I’m tyirng to reconcile what I’ve always heard about nutrition during pregnancy and the fantastic results I’ve SEEN in women living Paleo. My goal is to come out of pregnancy fitter than I was when I went in by moderate exercise, yoga, and healthful living. I would LOVE any tips you have and of course I will be scouring the rest of the blog. THANK YOU!!Eva

Leave a Reply

