Apple Pie

Apple Pie

Happy New Year!  I hope that your 2015 is full of peace, love and hope!

Looking back, last year was challenging but I view those challenges as opportunities for growth.  And I always start my year off with goals for growth or, as we call them, resolutions – a short list of items I’d like to tackle, re-engineer, start or end.  In other words, change is what we’re after when we create resolutions.  And for many it scares them enough that the fear cements them into passivity, or worse decline.

But if you look around, change is everywhere.  In life, we change jobs, careers, houses, cars, our minds and friends.  It’s necessary.  As a blogger I’m almost required to change with the tides of consumerism or I won’t have an audience.

Change requires us to surrender our lives to life itself – to great divides and great advances, to even greater challenges and opportunities.  Change stimulates our brains into action, with memories and new wrinkles of information.  If we don’t change, our lives become stagnant, stale, boring.

Lately, I’ve been hooked on listening to The Lively Show with Jess Lively as her guests discuss living with intention and her podcast reminded me of where I’ve been so many New Year’s Eves.  Many may be feeling that a change is in order as you search for your life purpose, which I can relate to.  We see this as a change of jobs or careers, because our jobs tend to define us.  However, life purpose isn’t what we do, it’s who we are.  If you look at any resume today you’ll see a laundry list of jobs taken just to pay the bills or to acquire that missing piece of experience for where we really hope to work.  Layoffs, hirings, firings, relocations, or just disagreements at your current work make it necessary to seek out something else.

But what we really grasp for is a struggle between doing what we should do verses doing what we want to do.  For example, in high school I was torn between attending college for accounting or graphic design.  I picked accounting.  Why?  Because I was told it was a “safe” profession – good money, great job security.  I grew up hearing that artists were homeless, hungry and penniless.  I chose what I felt I should do rather than what my heart was really craving.  But now, living with the regret, I choose daily to live my life full of beauty and art and pursuing what I love to do, which is blogging because I get to create and share art and build relationships with some of the most wonderful readers in the whole blogosphere!

But the jobs and roles and hobbies that we pursue don’t define us.  We’re really here for the sole purpose of glorifying our Maker.  That’s our life purpose.  Only our personalities make our roles in life.  Who are we behind closed doors?  How do we relate to our friends and family?  Strangers?  How do we show love to the world and how do we show we love God?

These are the questions I ask myself at the end of each year, and that you, dear readers, are now privy to.  Am I following my heart?  Am I making new connections?  Am I growing in my relationship with God?  Am I changing and maturing or am I stuck?

And so as I wrap up this year-end rambling (if you haven’t clicked away yet) you’re going to be rewarded with a changed and revamped apple pie recipe, full of beauty and warm apple flavor to help untangle you from 2014 and engage yourself in 2015.  Think of this as a New Year’s Resolution Apple Pie.  We’re improving just a baby step on the old way of doing things so we can incorporate more beauty and art into our lives.

Apple Pie

Maybe fill your mug with warm coffee or tea, grab a notepad and pen and give yourself an hour or so to just sit with you.  You are a beautiful, unique person.  You’re lucky to get to spend time with yourself!  Think back on this past year and write down a handful of goals you hope to accomplish and then give yourself a break because they won’t start out perfect and won’t end up perfect.  But if you end 2015 one baby step ahead of where you were in 2014, you’re on your way to great things!

Apple Pie
Author: Christine @ Refined Tastes
Prep time: 30 mins
Cook time: 20 mins
Total time: 50 mins
Serves: 8
Paleo, Gluten-Free, Grain-Free, Dairy-Free
Ingredients
  • [i]For the crust:[/i]
  • 1/2 cup almond flour
  • 1/4 cup coconut flour
  • 1/4 cup arrowroot powder
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 1 Tbs coconut oil
  • 1 egg
  • extra coconut oil for greasing the pan
  • [i]For the filling:[/i]
  • 4 medium-sized apples, peeled and cored, sliced into thin wedges
  • 3 Tbs coconut oil
  • 1/2 cup raw honey
  • 1 Tbs coconut flour
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • pinch of ground cloves
  • 1 Tbs vanilla extract
Instructions
[i]For the crust:[/i]
  1. Preheat oven 350 degrees.
  2. Place the three flours and salt in a food processor and pulse 1-2 times. Add the coconut oil and eggs and mix for 1 minute. It’s ready when the dough forms into a ball in the food processor.
  3. Thoroughly grease a 9-inch tart pan with coconut oil, getting into all the nooks and crannies.
  4. Spread the dough in the pan to form a thin crust on the bottom and up the sides of the tart pan.
[i]For the filling:[/i]
  1. Melt the coconut oil on medium heat in a medium saucepan. Add the honey, apples, spices and coconut flour and stir to coat the apples. Turn off the heat and add the vanilla extract and mix. Let cool for 10 mins.
  2. To assemble the filling (when apples are cool enough), start arranging the apples around the edges of the tart pan., overlapping slightly as you go Repeat, working your way into the center of the pan. When you reach the center, use one of the thinnest slices to curl into a circle and place in the middle. If you have extra apple slices, they an easily be slid into fill gaps
  3. Set the pan on a cookie sheet and place in the oven to bake for 20-25 minutes. Let cool and enjoy!

Inspired by: Bakerita’s Mango Tart

Filling adapted from: Paleo Magazine’s Apple Pie

The classic apple pie recipe, full of beauty and warm apple flavor, but with a new twist. All the flavor you love without the guilt. #apple #pie #paleo #recipe

7 Comments Add yours

  1. I adore that you used the way I arranged my mango tart, but using apples! Looks beautiful, and sounds delicious.

    1. Christine says:

      Thanks Rachel! I just love how you arranged the mango in your tart. It was just too beautiful not to try myself!

  2. Wow, I came here to look at your pie and The Lord used your blog post to answer a long standing prayer about my purpose in life and the direction my current business is heading in. Thanks for being candid and being faithful.

    1. Christine says:

      Wow! That’s amazing! The Lord works in incredible ways!

  3. Alex says:

    The dough does not fill a 9″ pan

  4. Marlo says:

    This is so beautiful! Have you ever tried this recipe using a flax egg? Any thoughts on how it would work out? Thank you!

  5. Louise says:

    Thanks so much Christine – I’m glad my apple pie recipe inspired your filling 🙂

Leave a Reply

