CRANBERRY LEMON CAKE

Cranberry Lemon Cake

I hope you and your family had a wonderful Christmas!  For weeks leading up to the big day it felt like time was dragging by, which I’m sure had nothing to do with my girl’s incessant reminders of how many days were left, several times a day.  And then Christmas Eve snuck up behind me and said, “gotcha!”  But we all had a wonderful time and I think everyone got what they wanted from their lists.

Except my husband.

He actually asked me NOT to buy him a gift because he couldn’t decide what he wanted the most.  In fact, I didn’t even give him any ideas for myself because I couldn’t think of anything I wanted.  So lame.  I know.  So I figured we were just going to do what we normally do and go hit the after-Christmas sales together.  But then he goes and gets me a lot of great gifts, which totally makes me look bad!

I’ve been baking a lot around here for our family gatherings so I haven’t seen my countertops in weeks.  We must be running our dishwasher 3-4 times a week lately.  My mom has requested my Chocolate Peppermint Cream Cookies, but the most requested recipe of mine is my Cheese and Macaroni.  I have to steal the name from Kraft because it takes FOUR bags of cheese to make.  That’s a pound and a half of cheese in one dish!  I’m pretty sure you won’t be seeing that recipe on the blog anytime soon.  Definitely NOT paleo.  Or healthy.

I made this Cranberry Lemon Cake recipe for our family gathering for Christmas Eve.  It’s based upon a recipe I found at Our Four Forks for a classic vanilla coconut cake.  I had two goals in mind for this recipe:

  • to create a moist and fluffy cake without using an entire bag of almond flour because, honestly, it’s just so expensive!
  • to use up all the cranberries left over from last week

This recipe is great because coconut flour has so many health benefits (high in fiber, protein and healthy fats).  Plus, it becomes so dense when combined with liquids that you use so much less of it – three quarters of a cup of coconut flour versus four cups of almond flour!

The flavors in the Cranberry Lemon Cake combine to make a great sweet and tart flavor reminiscent of the Christmas season.  I love those strong flavors!  The cake itself came out incredibly moist and full of flavor from the zest.  And, after adding the glaze, the texture reminded me of any old white flour cake I used to make.  Seriously, why bother making food with white flour when you can make it with these lessor-used flours and reap the health benefits, as well?

 

Cranberry Lemon Bundt Cake
Author: Christine @ Refined Tastes
Prep time: 10 mins
Cook time: 45 mins
Total time: 55 mins
Serves: 8
paleo, grain-free, dairy-free
Ingredients
  • [i]For the cake:[/i]
  • 5 Tbs ghee or clarified butter
  • pinch of salt
  • 1/2 cup coconut palm sugar
  • 2 1/2 cups cranberries
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 cup coconut milk
  • 1/3 cup maple syrup
  • 1 Tbs vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup lemon juice
  • 3/4 cup coconut flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp lemon zest
  • [i]For the glaze:[/i]
  • 1 can coconut cream (refrigerate a can of coconut milk overnight and scrape off the thick cream at the top)
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp maple syrup
  • 2 tsp lemon juice
  • zest from one lemon
Instructions
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Grease the inside of a bundt pan thoroughly. Use extra coconut flour to dust the inside of the pan, swirling the pan while you tap to ensure the surface is covered entirely. Tap out extra flour.
  3. Combine ghee/clarified butter, salt and coconut palm sugar in a small saucepan on low heat. Stir while heating until sugar is dissolved. Pour into the bottom of the greased bundt pan and top sugar mixture with cranberries.
  4. Combine eggs, coconut milk, maple syrup, vanilla extract and lemon juice in a bowl and whisk to combine.
  5. In a separate bowl, combine coconut flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt and lemon zest and mix.
  6. gently mix the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients, small amounts at a time until combined. Be careful not to overmix.
  7. Pour the batter on top of the cranberry mixture in the bundt pan and smooth the top with a wet spatula.
  8. Place it in the oven and cook for 40-45 minutes, or until lightly browned.
  9. Allow pan to cool completely before turning over onto a platter.
[i]For the glaze:[/i]
  1. Add ingredients into a small bowl and whisk to combine. Pour on top of the cake. Can store in the refrigerator until ready to use.

 

One Comment Add yours

  1. Jen says:

    Bring this with the macaroni and cheese tomorrow. Please and thank you.

Leave a Reply

