GINGERBREAD CRANBERRY MUFFINS

Gingerbread Cranberry Muffins

Can I be real with y’all this week? I’ve been totally feeling the stress of the season.  We haven’t had anything break or even any major financial issues but my tolerance level is very low these days.  Can you relate?  It may have to do with my long to-do list, my long to-buy list and my never-ending messy house.  I wake up stressed and go to bed with my mind racing.  Sleep has been a challenge lately.  Don’t get my wrong, I LOVE LOVE LOVE this season, but it definitely takes its toll.

I did have one win the other day.  For this introverted crowd-avoider, I managed to get some shopping for my girls done at the mall without completely losing my mind, even after my bank decided my checkcard expired THAT morning and having to wait behind a lady arguing about $5 at the register for 20 minutes.  To be honest, I prefer to do my Christmas shopping on-line, where I find the best deals and can stay in my PJs.

But we’ve been so busy this year!  Does anyone else have a Christmas party scheduled on every single weekend this month?  I’ve been cooking and baking and buying and wrapping and driving and hugging.  It’s a satisfied exhaustion that comes with the season and I know in January I’ll look back in boredom and wish we had another party scheduled.

My only time to recharge is in the early mornings, when I get time with my tea and a good book.  It’s a period of reflection and relaxation before the day starts that always gets me off on the right foot.  When I skip my quiet times I definitely feel it later in the day.  And since breakfast is my most favorite meal, this is also a good time for me to really pay attention to what I’m eating.  I try to pack my breakfast with as much depth and flavor as possible, but without having to dirty a stack of dishes.  For me, it has to be quick to make, but filling and tasty.  That’s why I usually make some type of bread for breakfast.  This gingerbread muffin recipe worked perfect.  Easy to make the day before and even easier to heat up the next morning.

Gingerbread Cranberry Muffins 2

Based upon my Banana Bread Muffin recipe, I originally made these just gingerbread but they were kind of plain vanilla.  Not very festive for the season, right?  So I added cranberries, which I think I literally have never cooked with before.  But why did I ever wait?  They’re like sweet, tart bombs in your mouth.  Seriously, I love that added touch.  I think Gingerbread Cranberry Muffins are going to become my thing during the holidays.

As a sidenote, I don’t know if you’ve noticed but I’ve been making some changes around the blog and social media to reflect the new name.  There’s more to come, too.  You know that peaceful feeling you get when you know you’ve made the right decision?  I DEFINITELY  have that with the name change for the blog.  It just fits.  It describes exactly what my blog is all about and what my heart yearns to create in the kitchen.  Although my mom quickly shot down my idea last week saying that she preferred the old name.  And then to rub salt in my wound, she asked me to make my Chocolate Peppermint Cream Cookies for our annual cookie decorating get-together.  I guess we’ll have to compromise.

Gingerbread Cranberry Muffins
Cuisine: Grain-Free, Gluten-Free, Dairy-Free, Paleo
Author: Christine @ Refined Tastes
Prep time: 10 mins
Cook time: 25 mins
Total time: 35 mins
Serves: 12
Ingredients
  • 3 eggs
  • 1/2 cup maple syrup
  • 1 Tbs pure, unsulphered molasses
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup clarified butter or ghee
  • 3/4 cup almond milk
  • 1 cup almond flour
  • 1/2 cup coconut flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp ground ginger
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp allspice
  • 3/4 cup cranberries
Instructions
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees
  2. Mix wet ingredients (eggs, syrup, molasses, vanilla extract, ghee, almond milk) and whisk to break up the eggs and combine
  3. Add dry ingredients into wet mixture (flours, baking soda, baking powder, salt and spices) and stir to combine
  4. Add cranberries and gently fold into batter.
  5. Spoon mixture into muffin cups, filling 3/4 of the way full.
  6. Bake 25-30 minutes, or until toothpick comes out clean.

 

Leave a Reply

