CHOCOLATE PEPPERMINT CREAM COOKIES

Chocolate Peppermint Cream Cookies

Now that Thanksgiving is over I’m all about Christmas.  Shiny decorations, bright lights, and the kid’s handcrafted presents that we display each year always put me right in the mood.  Our kids were super excited about getting our tree up – so excited that we forgot all about our plans to buy a real tree and we went with the fake one yet again.  Wah.  Maybe next year.

My dream is to have our house look like a cross between Martha Stewart and a Southern Living magazine with paper cut-out lanterns and fresh pine boughs on the windowsills.  Pine cones and ribbon-tied paper whites throughout every room just make my heart sing.  I found 101 ways to make your home look Southern Living-ish.  If I could, I would handcraft every single one of these suggestions – and then probably be so tired I would sleep through Christmas.

This is my first Christmas-themed recipe of the year, and I’m sure these cookies show back up for one of our parties.  It’s like a peppermint Oreo all wrapped up in candy canes.  My 12-year old would come home from school and ask me to make her one as a snack.  If that picky eater likes them, I know they’re good.  Consider them a little gift from me to you this season.

I’m convinced peppermint is the flavor of Christmas.  Just biting into these cool Chocolate Peppermint Cream Cookies brings back memories of playing in six-foot snow drifts in my grandparent’s yard up in Michigan.  I dream of windows frosted in symmetrical designs, powdered fluff floating down from gray skies as I sip a warm mug of homemade hot cocoa.  The sparkle of lights on the trees in the background always makes me joyful and nostalgic.

And the new year approaching makes me feel introspective.  I’m a big planner so you know I’ve always had my New Year’s resolutions created, printed and laminated by the 1st of the year.  You can bet my resolutions are already in rough draft mode and ready to go come January 1st.  At the top of my list is to make some major creative improvements to the blog.  To be totally honest, I would love to see the blog grow into a helpful resource for anyone looking for new and innovative recipes while eating a Paleo diet.  This blog really is a creative combination of my eating experiences, my desire to help others and just having some fun in the kitchen!

I may be jumping the gun a little here but I’ve never been 100% satisfied with the name of the blog.  Sure, it makes sense but it didn’t really reflect who I am and what I hope to offer.  So after mulling over many names for what seemed like forever, one day I sat and began studying the recipes already posted and it hit me – I’m totally, completely drawn to Paleo baked goods!  Maybe it’s the sweet tooth talking here but I can’t get enough recipes of cakes and brownies and ice cream and breads.  Really those kinds of recipes are just so much more fun to create (and tasty to eat)!

If my younger, naive self could come back it would scold me because I always said that I love to cook but I could never be a baker.  Huh.  Go figure.

So I’ve decided that a change is in order.  A name change.  I’m thinking ThePaleoBaker.com.  Fitting, right?  What do you think?

Chocolate Peppermint Cream Cookies
Author: Christine @ Refined Tastes
Serves: 12
Ingredients
  • [i]For the cookies:[/i]
  • 2 1/2 cups almond flour
  • 4 Tbs coconut flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp Celtic Sea salt
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/4 cup ghee or clarified butter
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 2 Tbs dark chocolate cocoa powder
  • [i]For the frosting:[/i]
  • 1 cup of coconut cream
  • 3 Tbs maple syrup
  • 1 tsp peppermint extract
  • almond milk, to thin
  • candy canes, crushed
Instructions
[i]To make the cookies:[/i]
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Add dry ingredients into a food processor and pules several times to combine. Add wet ingredients and process until completely mixed and dough forms a ball.
  3. Place dough between two pieces of parchment paper and roll with a rolling pin to 1/4″ thick. Cut out shapes with a cookie cutter and place shapes on a lined baking sheet.
  4. Bake 8-10 minutes. Allow to cool 5 mins and transfer to a cooling rack to finish cooling.
[i]To make the frosting:[/i]
  1. Combine all ingredients in a small food processor. Slowly add the almond milk in to thin to your desired consistency.
To create the cookies, simply spread a generous amount of frosting between two cookies and roll the cookie in crushed candy canes.

2 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

