EASY PALEO PUMPKIN PIE – TWO WAYS

Easy Paleo Pumpkin Pie-Two Ways

Y’all, I did it.  I ran my first 5k.  This is a BIG deal for me.  I know there are millions of people out there that have already run a 5k, 10k, half or marathon but for me, this is a BIG deal.  You see, running isn’t at the top of my to-do list each day – or any day for that matter – but my daughter signed up for the Girls On The Run program through her school and needed an adult chaperone.  She gave me a two-week notice.  Yup, two weeks to train so I don’t completely pass out and make a fool of myself in front of all her classmates.  ‘Cause, you know, the world would end if a middle schooler were embarrassed by her parents.  I mean, we’re talking life-threatening drama here.

But she did great and I did better than expected.  So we had a great time and I’m glad we were able to share the day together doing something she enjoys so much.

Our first 5k run!

But you know when after you have your first baby everyone asks you when you’re going to have another one?  You want to scream, “I haven’t even left the hospital yet and you’re already pressuring me for another?”  Not cool.  The comment I kept hearing was, “So when are you running your half?”  Hah!  It took everything in me to run the 5k and I can’t say I was entirely overjoyed about willingly making my chest heave to the point where it would explode and enduring muscle soreness from the chest down for the next week.  But it was for my daughter, so it’s all worth it.

So I figured the best way to recuperate from my run is to numb my brain on Pinterest.  And I ran across Heather Christo’s Chocolate Pumpkin Pie and loved the beautiful swirls she created with my favorite sweet – chocolate.  There is definitely beauty in food and an art to how we cook and present our food.  Art isn’t just for the museum.  Art can be found in everything we do, from how we care for our kids, to how a janitor cleans an office or how we care for our coworkers and clients.  It all comes down to where you direct your love.  Not everyone is created for mission work in Africa or adopting 17 kids.  Most of us are created to find the joy and love in the daily carpool or the little ones at our feet (or eye-to-eye).  I’ve been re-reading one of my favorite books from Emily P. Freeman, titled A Million Little Ways to remind myself that a life of art isn’t always paintings and Pinterest crafts.  It’s more of living out the art our Creator breathes into us, whether that’s being an African missionary, a corporate employee or a stay-at-home mom.  Our art is how we perform our daily tasks and how we interact with others.  It’s what we do with what God has given us that our art truly shows.

For me, one of the ways I share my love and God-given art with others is through food.  That’s why I enjoy cooking and feeding others.  I learned it from my grandmother who always cooked from her heart.  And that’s why this blog was created.  Another way for me to share my love and art with others through food.

Sorry for getting a little off topic.

And speaking of art, this pie is a work of art.  Seriously.  It’s pretty to look at and tastes just like the real thing you’ve been eating since you were a kid.  It’s so good it never even made it into the refrigerator.  Of course, it didn’t help that it’s an “almost” single-serving size.  I mean, really that’s more pie than I SHOULD be eating in one sitting but when you eat half of it and it’s just sitting there in all it’s sweet, spicy, pumpkin-ness, you can’t help but take another bite.  And then, well, you’ve already eaten more than half so you might as well finish it off with a warm mug of apple cider in front of the TV with your sweetheart in your jammies and a warm fire…at least that’s what I imagine doing (ahem).

Seriously, this Easy Paleo Pumpkin Pie is so easy to make, so delicious to eat, so pretty to look at with those swirls that you have no reason to pass over dessert this Thanksgiving because of your diet.  Go ahead and indulge!

Paleo Pumpkin Pie – Two Ways
Author: Christine @ Refined Tastes
Serves: 4-6
Ingredients
  • [i]For the crust: [/i]
  • 1 cup almond flour
  • 1/2 cup coconut flour
  • 1/2 cup arrowroot powder
  • 1 tsp sea salt
  • 2 Tbs coconut oil
  • 2 eggs
  • [i]For the filling:[/i]
  • 1 15-ounce can of pumpkin puree
  • 1/2 cup coconut milk
  • 1/2 cup maple syrup
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp ground ginger
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp allspice
  • pinch of salt
Instructions
  1. Preheat oven 350 degrees.
  2. For the crust: Place the three flours and salt in a food processor and pulse 1-2 times. Add the coconut oil and eggs and mix for 1 minute. The mixture should look crumbly but easily stick together in a ball.
  3. Evenly split the dough into your individual tart pans, pushing to form against the edges and bottom, fixing any cracks, if necessary. Try not to make the dough too thick.
  4. For the filling: Whisk the pumpkin puree, coconut milk, syrup, eggs, vanilla and spices in a bowl. Once fully combined, pour an even amount into each crust in the tart pans.
  5. Place tart pans on a baking sheet and bake for 20 minutes. They should still be a little gooey in the center when you remove them. The filling will fully form as it cools.
Notes
[b][i]To make the chocolate swirl:[/i][/b][br]Before you fill the tart pans, take 1/4 cup of the filling mixture and mix it with 1 tsp of cocoa powder. Dot the cocoa filling lightly onto the tops of each pan. Take a toothpick and gently swirl the mixture into the filling. Bake as directed.

 

One Comment Add yours

  1. Nice recipe ! I will surely try this at home.

Leave a Reply

