DAIRY-FREE APPLE PIE ICE CREAM

Dairy-Free Apple Pie Ice Cream

This year’s Halloween was a success.  Unfortunately, it was a cold one, with the wind biting at our ears and the leaves creating a spooky dance swirling around us.  Here in the South, you never know if you’ll get a 70-degree or a 30-degree night of trick or treating.  But the kids don’t pay any attention to the weather.  They’re hyper-focused on filling up their candy bag until they’re begging for mom or dad to carry it for them.  Imaginations run wild with thoughts of spreading their loot out on the floor at home, energizing them to ring one more doorbell.  Our neighborhood is particularly popular since we have mostly older retired couples living here that absolutely adore children coming to visit.  It’s like having substitute grandkids over for the night.  And we don’t skimp on candy around here.  After tallying up our supply, we handed out over six jumbo Costco-sized bags of chocolate and sugar, all in the name of perpetuating obesity.  But, hey, it’s only one night, right?

Our littlest, Abby, who is a Frozen Elsa fanatic, insisted on being Doc McStuffins this year for Halloween.  And, maybe I’m a little biased, but she’s the cutest Doc I’ve ever seen. (love! love! love!)  She couldn’t contain her excitement all week to get her costume on and gather the goods so when Halloween came around and we set off, I was a little surprised she clammed up and wouldn’t say a word.  I had to say “trick or treat” for her at every.single.house.  Poor little thing was too scared of some of the costumes to really get into it.  But she had a blast and was happy with what she brought home.  And that just warms my heart.

Abby at Halloween

This time of year is particularly hard for those of us that try to say away from sugar and carbs, and in past years, I’ve always fallen off the wagon, having to detox myself from my bad holiday eating habits.  A small cheat here and a small cheat there always lead to major long-term issues.  But I’m determined this year to remain faithful to my diet.  It won’t do me any good to cheat.  Eating a Snickers may give me a temporary one minute satisfaction but it will only leave me craving for more and feeling horrible afterwards.

So I don’t mind creating sweets in the kitchen with my own ingredients to feed my cravings.  Some traditional dishes are harder than others to recreate but sometimes it’s easier to recreate them in a different ways.  Apple Pie is one of those desserts that I just LOVE!  That’s why I took out what I love the most about apple pie and put it into a sweet treat for myself.  Have you ever tried Paleo ice cream?  It’s way more simple than you’d expect and just as good as regular ice cream.  I’ve combined the sweet tartness of the apples with the smooth coconut cream and added in the obligatory pecans. And you can’t forget the cinnamon!

This dairy-free Apple Pie Ice Cream turned out to be a great sweet substitute for Halloween candy (although I wouldn’t mind a few Snickers sprinkled on top).

How about you?  How are you planning on handling this holiday season of eating?

Dairy-Free Apple Pie Ice Cream
Author: Christine @ Refined Tastes
Serves: 4
Ingredients
  • 6 peeled, cored, wedged, and frozen overnight (Granny Smith, Honeycrisp, Braeburn or Golden Delicous work best)
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 coconut cream (the thick cream from the top of the refrigerated can)
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 cup pecan pieces
Instructions
  1. Combine all of the ingredients into a food processor.
  2. Pulse until combined and smooth.
  3. Serve with your choice of toppings.

 

Leave a Reply

