Butternut Squash and Tahini Soup

Butternut Squash and Tahini Soup | refinedtastesblog.com

Y’all it’s fall!  As soon as fall “officially” hit on September 23 God dropped the thermostat and invited us to pull our woolly sweaters out of storage.  I’m not complaining, though.  This is my FAV-O-RITE time of year!  I just LOVE the cooler weather, hot apple cider, showing off my boots and cooking – oh, fall cooking!  Turkey, stuffing, warm soups and breads.  And I love me some pumpkin.  Not too sound too much like Bubba on Forrest Gump, but pumpkin is the fruit of the fall.  You can roast it, boil it, bake it.  There’s pumpkin bread, pumpkin soup, pumpkin muffins, pumpkin salad…my apologies.

You can bet I’ll be taking advantage of the season and sharing more pumpkin recipes with you.  But you know what I like even just a teensy weensy bit more?

Butternut Squash

Yup, I have to admit.  It’s my fav.  Wanna know why?  ‘Cause it’s so much easier to cook with.  Pumpkins are big and heavy and to roast it takes so much work!  Just a few cuts into the butternut, drizzle with oil, salt and pepper, roast in the oven for 30 mins and it’s done.  And yum.

And during this time to sinking temperatures I have dreams of ending my days sitting next to a roaring fire while warming my toes while sipping a tall mug of soup that warms my belly.  Notice a trend?  While I enjoy the cold weather outside, I must be warm inside.  If a breath of cold wind enters the house I’m a miserable whiny baby knocking the heat up another 10 degrees so my poor toes don’t freeze off.

I might as well be a bear because the concept of hibernating in a warm bed sounds appealing, does it not?

So I was pretty darn excited to try out this recipe for Butternut Squash and Tahini Soup.  I’d run across tahini at my local store the other day and picked it up without even a recipe in mind.  But I knew I wanted to use it in a creative way – tahini is for more than just making hummus.  And it gives this soup a slightly nutty, sesame flavor that compliments well with the butternut squash.

The only change I made to the original recipe was to reduce the amount of water.  I was really looking for something thick and creamy and didn’t want it thin enough to drink.  It had to be hearty to sit on the spoon without dripping down my chin while eating.  I hate that.

And, what’s even better is that it’s super simple to make.  Just roast the squash, throw everything in a blender and eat.  Smooth, nutty, creamy, delicious.  I cleaned out my bowl.

Your turn!

Butternut Squash and Tahini Soup
Author: Christine @ Refined Tastes
Prep time: 10 mins
Cook time: 45 mins
Total time: 55 mins
Serves: 2-3
Ingredients
  • 1 Butternut Squash
  • 3 Tbs tahini
  • 2 Tbs gluten-free soy sauce or tamari
  • juice of 1/2 lemon
  • 1 Tbs apple cider vinegar
  • 3 cups water
  • salt and pepper to taste
Instructions
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Peel the squash and cut it into bite-sized pieces. Arrange on a piece of foil on a baking sheet, drizzle with clarified butter/ghee and season with salt and pepper. Roast for 30-35 minutes, or until soft.
  2. When the squash is cooked, add the squash, tahini, tamari, lemon, vinegar and water to a blender and blend until smooth.
  3. If necessary, transfer to a sauce pan and heat through until piping hot.

 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Sabesyatro says:

    I made this today, and it was a total success. Thanks for the ripece! I would never have thought to put sesame in a crumble, but it turned out delicious. I lowered the sugar in the fruit mixture to a scant 1/3 cup, and it was still sweet enough.

  2. Jenifer says:

    Hi,I just discovered your blog and am fndniig it very helpful! My husband and I have been doing paleo for about 3 months, but never really knew it until recently. We discovered that the way we had been eating had a name, paleo! Anyhow, so far we are doing an okay job. My husband is like 85-90% paleo and I would say I’m about 75%. I have a 2 month old daughter and am hesitant to change my lifestyle completely bc I’m breast feeding. Breast feeding has been going really well thankfully and I just don’t want anything to change that. Any suggestions? Or knowledge on this?

  3. Kate F says:

    Found this recipe on Pinterest and decided to start fall early this year! I made it this weekend by roasting my squash in the slow cooker overnight. The soup turned out amazing and put me in full fall mode! I even made paleo pumpkin ice cream for dessert! I added some unsweetened applesauce to my soup– I loved Panera’s version until I read the ingredients list. Thanks for the paleo recipe, I love it!

    1. Christine says:

      Great idea to roast your squash in the slow cooker. My crockpot is such a lifesaver! I’m so glad you enjoyed the soup! Are you as excited as I am for fall recipes???? 🙂

Leave a Reply

