Blueberry Scones

Blueberry Scones

I’m mourning the end of blueberry season.

Can’t we just buy blueberries all year?  Oh, yeah.  They would taste terrible.

So rather than donning all black during my grocery trips, I decided to buy up as many boxes of blueberries I could find before they’re too bland and tasteless to bother with.  But what do you do with all those berries?  Some have been used for a quick stack of pancakes or a cool smoothie, while other’s fate has been sealed in a ziploc bag in the freezer, waiting for inspiration.

They’re really too yummy to forget about until next summer.  That’s like forgetting an old friend for a whole season.  That would be so mean!

I’ve been obsessing over craving those blueberries for days now.  And since anything warm, baked and bread-y is my thang, this recipe for Blueberry Scones hit the spot.  This one came from Miryam at Eat Good 4 Life and was originally a gluten-free version, which is GOOD but the recipe still required white sugar – BAD.  So, in all things sugar-free, I made a slight adjustment and substituted the sugar for honey.  The original recipe also asked for arrowroot flour or cornstarch – GAH! – which I feel is best to stay away from because of the potential for GMOs and extreme gluten-sensitive folks may still have reactions.  The arrowroot flour is probably okay and is used as a thickener, but feel free to add coconut flour in it’s place.

So after just a few small changes we were in business!  And this recipe was super easy to make and bake and cut and eat and – I’m actually eating some right now while I type – hold on, found an extra blueberry – mmm, okay, where was I?

I love how these came out slightly crumbly and messy (kind of like my car, minus the slightly) and soft and delicious.

Speaking of, I had to take my van in for some work yesterday and they gave me a brand new loaner with all the bells and whistles.  IT.WAS.SO.COOL!  Rearview backup camera, XM radio, leather, sunroof, all kinds of knobs and buttons that make driving even easier and lazier.  I mean, who wants to manually open up the back door?  I might break a nail!

And while I wasn’t pining over a brand new version of my van after returning the loaner, after scanning the floor of my van for stale french fries, little bits of paper, dirt, dirt, dirt, and other unidentifiable objects, I was a bit envious of how clean it was.  Yesterday’s homeschooling started out with a lesson on the importance of keeping your car clean.

We’ll see how long it lasts.  Maybe a day, if I’m lucky, two.

But back to these Blueberry Scones and their sweet, juicy blueberries – did I mention they have blueberries?  This recipe would be great for breakfast with a hot mug of coffee, for a great energy-boosting snack in the afternoon or even as dessert, with just enough to tame your sweet tooth.

In my house, anytime of day is a good time to eat Blueberry Scones.

Blueberry Scones
Author: Christine @ Refined Tastes
Serves: 8 scones
Ingredients
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil, melted
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1 1/2 cup almond flour
  • 2 Tbs arrowroot flour or coconut flour
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened shredded coconut
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 6 oz fresh organic blueberries
Instructions
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line a 9-inch round baking pan with parchment paper all the way up to the sides of the pan.
  2. In a bowl, add the egg, honey and coconut oil. With a hand mixer, beat until combined. Add the reminder of the ingredients except the blueberries and mix through. Add the blueberries and gently stir with a spoon until incorporated.
  3. Pour the batter into the pan and bake for 35-40 minutes.
  4. Let cool for at least 15 minutes. Pulling from the parchment paper, life the scones up from the pan and cut into 8 pieces.

 

Leave a Reply

