Mexican Avocado Soup

Mexican Avocado Soup

The other weekend my hubby was out of town on a business trip.  When he’s out our menu usually consists of teen and toddler food: pizza, tacos, and spaghetti.  So after dropping him off at the airport we hurried home to make homemade pizzas to please the more “vocal” members of my family (read: the kids).  However, pizza is not an easy task for someone who stays away from gluten and dairy.  I’ve made a few in the past that could pass but I’ll forever mourn the day I had to pass back a slice of Pizza Hut because I knew what consequences I would face later that night.

So, since I’ve created a personal mission to find the make a decent bread to eat that’s acceptable for my stomach, I’m also on a quest to make a delicious pizza.  In fact, when asked by my husband what I miss most, you got it…pizza.

After digging around on the web for a crust recipe I found one that used tapioca flour, which I’ve been extremely suspicious of for a while now, but since it was “approved” by Paleo gurus, I would give it a try.  We made our pizzas, went on our merry way, and BAM it hit me.

Within the hour.

Inflammation all over.

It hit my stomach.  Inflamed my mouth.  Brain fog came back.  And what’s worse, it’s been 12 days now and it’s just now settling down.

Yesterday I was determined to give my gut a break.  No meat.  Very little dairy.  Lots of water.  Lots of peppermint tea.

This recipe for Mexican Avocado Soup actually came over my email earlier in the morning and instantly I knew I needed to try it.  I had two nice and ripe avocados in my frig just waitin’ to be eaten.

The original recipe is from Lee Holmes’ new e-book, Heal Your Gut, but I found it on the Food Matters website (a great source of information if you’re looking to live a healthy lifestyle).  Lee claims that research shows avocados are good for healing and sealing the gut walls.  I’ve never heard that before but I figured this would be a good addition to my daily bone broth to help seal back up anything that nasty tapioca flour messed up.  Couldn’t hurt, right?  I mean, avocados!  Yum!

But I knew going in I wanted this soup to be more like guacamole but not guacamole.  Catch my drift?

I made some adjustments by leaving out the lemon and instead adding lime juice.  I also found 3-4 cups of vegetable broth would leave it way too soupy so I only used 2-3.  It’s recommended that you serve it chilled but I can’t fathom the idea of eating soup that’s not warm and comforting.  Soup, to me, is something you eat when it’s cold outside.  And I don’t eat cold things in the winter.  In fact, I don’t even like the winter.  Y’all, I’m already gearing up to hibernate until next March.

Since we’re using vegetable stock, this recipe qualifies as vegetarian, and if it weren’t for the sprinkle of goat cheese I added to the top (which you must try), it would be vegan, as well.

And this Mexican Avocado Soup recipe is SO EASY!  Caramelize your onions, throw everything in the mixer and pour it into your bowl.  Done.  Simple.  Perfect!

 

Mexican Avocado Soup
Author: Christine @ Refined Tastes
Prep time: 10 mins
Cook time: 5 mins
Total time: 15 mins
Serves: 4
Ingredients
  • 2 avocados, ripe, pited, peeled and mashed
  • 2 Tbs ghee or clarified butter
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 2-3 cups vegetable stock
  • 1/2 cup almond milk
  • juice of 2 limes, or to taste
  • 1 tsp smoked paprika (regular paprika is okay too)
  • 1/2 tsp ground cumin
  • pinch of cayenne pepper
  • 1 garlic clove, crushed
  • celtic sea salt, to taste
  • ground pepper, to taste
Instructions
  1. Saute onions in the ghee/clarified butter until soft and browned, about 5 mins on medium heat
  2. Place all ingredients in a food processor and blend until combined.
  3. Place in bowl and serve either warm or chill until served

 

Leave a Reply

