Flourless Salted Caramel Chocolate Chip Cookies

Flourless Salted Caramel Chocolate Chip Cookies -   #paleo #chocolate #caramel #grain-free #dairy-free #sugar-free ---- OH, DELISH!

 

So I was trying to come up with a reason why I baked these delicious mounds of sweetness yesterday and then I realized…

…who needs a reason to bake cookies?

And who can argue with salted caramel mixed with sweet chocolate chips?  Salty and sweet?  Yes, please!

I’m in heaven.

And although they’re made with clearly suspect ingredients (according to my girls), they actually TASTE just like chocolate chip cookies.  I’m totally diggin’ these recipes made with dates.  You get the same sweetness and soft texture you would get with flour and white sugar.  And you can only imagine my glee when I found them at my local Costco and had to refrain myself from my embarrassing happy dance in the middle of the aisle.  Who even does happy dances anymore?  I guess I am getting old.  That’s so last year.

Dontcha just love it when your kids tell you you’re old and out of style?  I walk downstairs the other night after getting ready for a girl’s night out and my middle says, “Finally!”  Huh?  Then she follows with, “Finally you look good!”  This coming from a girl who thinks it’s still cool to match her mom’s converse/jeans rolled up look to the mall.  Teenagers.  So fickle.

So after talking to myself for a week, confirming that, no, I’m not outdated, and yes, I am still a hot catch, I knew I needed to do something to make myself feel better.  I found these beauties on My Whole Food Life and knew instantly that these would do the trick.

Flourless Salted Caramel Chocolate Chip Cookies – there isn’t anything in the title NOT to love!

These came out gooey, soft, sweet, salty and chocolaty.  Best.Combo.Ever.

The recipe itself was fairly simple but I made it even simpler by not paying attention.  Instead of separating the dates/salt/water and the almond butter/vanilla/baking powder, I accidentally started throwing everything in there until my itty, bitty food processor was full.  I said, oh well, started processing and it came out perfect!  The only change I made was to use what I had on hand  – almond butter – instead of going out to the store to spend $10 on raw cashews and having to “slave” over the food processor for 5 mins.  I know, cooking can be exhausting sometimes!  I decided to stir in the chocolate chips instead of pulsing them in to make sure none were broken up into bits.

That would have been horrifying!

Enjoy this little bite of heaven for dessert or snack or fresh out of the oven (cause they’re that good!)

Flourless Salted Caramel Chocolate Chip Cookies
Author: Christine @ Refined Tastes
Prep time: 5 mins
Cook time: 10 mins
Total time: 15 mins
Serves: 9 cookies
Ingredients
  • 1 cup almond butter
  • 5 medjool dates (pits removed and soaked in water for 30 mins)
  • 2 Tbs water
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4 tsp sea salt
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 cup dark chocolate chips
Instructions
  1. Preheat oven to 350
  2. Drain dates from the water
  3. In a small food processor combine all ingredients and blend. If you need to add a little extra water that’s okay.
  4. Once well-blended, add in chocolate chips and stir to combine.
  5. Take a small amount of dough and roll into a ball just smaller than a golf ball. Place onto a lined baking sheet and smoosh down to flatten just slightly.
  6. Bake for 9-10 mins.
  7. Let cool on the baking sheet for at least 30 mins before removing.
  8. Cookies can store in the refrigerator for up to 2 weeks (if they make it that long) or in the freezer for longer.

 

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

