Easy Paleo Bread

Easy Paleo Bread

I have this sweet, dear friend who’s in the same boat as many of us.  She’s gluten, dairy and egg-intolerant.  She’s always trying new recipes, making adjustments when needed to try to eat like “normal” people do.  Unfortunately, her delicious apple fritter recipe didn’t turn out as pretty as the photo.

The challenge that we face, when using less popular flours and ingredients, is that recipes don’t always turn out as nice and pretty as they look online.  In fact, just yesterday I threw out a whole pan of brownies BROWNIES! because they were as dry as the Sahara.  And this recipe was from a very well-known paleo cookbook author…and was featured on her site as one of her most requested recipes…and I followed it step-by-step – no substitutions.  They weren’t even swallowable without a a big swig of water. (Is swallowable a word?)  So, the moral of this rant is…sometimes it’s hard to find good recipes to post on the blog.  But don’t worry!  I have made it my quest to find delicious recipes we can enjoy so you can have a one-stop-shop when it comes to feeding your family.

So, needless to say, this whole week has been full of failures in the kitchen.  Some didn’t come out looking photo-worthy, others just plain weren’t all that good.  I was ready to give up on the week when I remembered a recipe I had printed out a few weeks ago.  This was a recipe for a Paleo version of bread.  I have to admit, I was a little skeptical.  And I knew, since most Paleo baking requires a large amount of almond flour, kind of what it would taste like – not quite like the break I grew up with.  But I have a personal quest to find good bread recipes.  Bread is my weakness, my downfall, my kryptonite. My happy place is the smell of a fresh loaf of bread wafting up from the oven, slicing and removing it way too early, which causes it to be floppy and soft, slathering on melted butter and taking that first bite.  It is absolutely divine, I tell ya!

So after quickly scanning the recipe from Elana’s Pantry, I noticed right away that it was my kind of recipe – quick and easy with little clean up.  (Because who wants to clean up five bowls, a mixer, pots and pans and a million spoons just to make one meal?)  It doesn’t require a whole lot of ingredients and only uses one bowl.  Score!

This Easy Paleo Bread recipe came out soft and crumbly, just like whole wheat bread, with a slightly nutty flavor.  I’ve already slathered it with a good helping of butter and jelly and it was delicious!  My next step is to try it out for BLTs or a quick peanut butter and jelly.  Yum!  The almond meal and flax make it a hearty, filling loaf, keeping you full longer.

A perfect addition to any healthy eaters collection.

**Elana says that if you don’t use a 7.5 x 3.5 Magic Line Loaf Pan it won’t rise like it should.  I didn’t have one on-hand so I used a regular glass bread pan.  I didn’t get the rise quite like she did but it still turned out a tasty loaf of bread.

Easy Paleo Bread
Author: Christine @ Refined Tastes
Recipe from Elana’s Pantry: http://elanaspantry.com/paleo-bread/
Ingredients
  • 2 cups blanched almond flour
  • 2 Tbs coconut flour
  • 1/4 cup golden flaxmeal
  • 1/4 tsp celtic sea salt
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 5 eggs
  • 1 Tbs coconut oil
  • 1 Tbs honey
  • 1 Tbs apple cider vinegar
Instructions
  1. Place almond flour, coconut flour, flax, salt and baking soda in a food processor
  2. Pulse ingredients together
  3. Pulse in eggs, oil, honey and vinegar
  4. Transfer batter to a greased bread pan
  5. Bake at 350 for 30 minutes
  6. Cool in the pan for 2 hours

 

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Nice recipe ! I will surely try this at home.

  2. Nice recipe ! I will surely try this at home.

Leave a Reply

