Flaxseed Muffins

Flaxseed MuffinsAround my house, my family tends to shy away from trying recipes I make that aren’t made with the usual ingredients.  Actually the conversation goes more like this:

Me: Honey, you’re welcome to eat a few of the muffins I made.  Help yourself!

Daughters and sometimes husband: Uh, what’s in them?

Me: Almond flour, raisins, coconut oil….

Daughters and sometimes husband: Ewww, no

I’ve often been stuck finishing off an entire pan of cookies or muffins because they’re made out of a more obscure flour or ingredient that isn’t mainstream.  Almond or coconut flour, sweeteners such as honey or stevia, real butter and pink Himalayan salt – these take some time for my family to adjust to, if at all.

When we don’t eat what our ancestors routinely cooked with we tend to lose a taste for those ingredients.  And when the food industry inundates our food supply with too much sugar, salt and heavily-processed oils and fats, real food doesn’t taste real anymore.

For dinner, the one meal we all eat together, I try to be considerate of everyone’s likes and dislikes.  My recipes aren’t special, they’re just regular everyday meals with a few adjustments to keep things healthy.  In other words, what they don’t know won’t hurt them (wink, wink).

When you have food allergies/intolerances or are trying to eat “real” or “whole”, it’s not the end of an enjoyable meal.  Most recipes just take a little adjustment or substitution to make it free to eat.  Most of the time you can’t even tell a difference.  And that’s what this blog is all about – showing you how easy it is to make small changes that will make a big impact in your long-term health.

The nice thing is that ever since I’ve kicked my sugar habit I don’t crave recipes that have been loaded with mountains of sugar.  I actually crave natural sweeteners, such as maple syrup, honey or even a simple piece of fruit.  And I’m so glad I did because I’ve kicked the processed food addiction.  No more sugar, highly-processed and nutrient-empty flours, chemicals or mystery ingredients.  My body feels better, runs better and rests better.  If you’re interested in kicking your sugar addiction, I would recommend checking out this program.

But I love nothing more than bread or muffins, hot out of the oven, slathered with butter.  So I ran across this pin the other day about a 2-Minute Flaxseed Muffin and I thought, okay, if I only have to wait two minutes for a treat, I’m game.  But, of course, it was cooked in the microwave for two minutes.  Um, no.  Not that I’m totally against using a microwave but I think there are healthier options.  So I decided to tweak it.

Flaxseed meal is full of healthy omega-3 fatty acids, lignans and fiber, which can help your heart, your hormones and serve as a potent antioxidant.  The muffin gives you that bouncy rise, just like regular flour so really you could serve this to your family and they wouldn’t know the difference.  I added raisins and chia seeds to mine for a little extra natural sweetness and omega-3s.  It’s even delicious served with a spoonful of jelly on top.

If you’re looking for a little treat just for yourself, this Flaxseed Muffin is easy and healthy, packing a punch of healthy benefits.

 

Flaxseed Muffins
Author: Christine @ Refined Tastes
Prep time: 5 mins
Cook time: 20 mins
Total time: 25 mins
Serves: 1
Ingredients
  • 1/4 cup flaxseed meal/ground flaxseeds
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • pinch of sea salt
  • 2 Tbs coconut or almond milk
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 tsp honey
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp coconut oil
  • Optional: 1 1/2 Tbs dried fruit, 1 Tbs raisins, chocolate chips, seeds, nuts, 2 tsp chia seeds)
Instructions
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. In a small bowl stir to combine the flaxseed, baking powder, cinnamon and sea salt. In another small bowl, add the milk, egg, honey and vanilla extract. Whisk until blended smooth. Add the wet ingredients to the flax mixture and stir to combine. Stir in any add-ins, as desired.
  3. Coat the inside of a ramekin or small bowl with coconut oil and spoon in the batter
  4. Bake 18-20 minutes.

 

Leave a Reply

