Tomato Dill Frittata

Tomato Dill Frittata

 

If you know me, I cannot start out my day without a filling breakfast.  I mean, what’s not to love about muffins, toast, pancakes, eggs, sausage, bacon…..

After a breakfast like that I can almost say hallelujah! and call it day – almost.

So when I run across dishes made with breakfast foods that I can make later in the day, well…I’m not ashamed to admit I get a little excited.

A good baked egg dish is always on my list of favorite recipes.  Filled with a variety of flavors: meat, vegetables, cheese and spices, that combine to give you a different taste from each bite.  I mean, look at the chunks of flavor in this frittata?  You have:

fresh garden tomatoes

spicy red onions

farm-raised eggs with their own deep indulgence of taste

salty goat cheese

all enhanced with a touch of dill, which compliments the vegetables nicely.

And it’s so easy to make – just stir it up in a bowl, pour it into your pan and stick it in the oven.  I even enhanced my already-seasoned skillet with bacon grease to give even more flair to the dish.  Just another great use for saved bacon grease!  (like you need an excuse to save bacon grease)

 

Tomato Dill Frittata
Author: Christine @ Refined Tastes
Prep time: 10 mins
Cook time: 35 mins
Total time: 45 mins
Serves: 4
Ingredients
  • bacon grease to grease pan
  • 8 eggs, whisked
  • 4 tomatoes, diced
  • 2 Tbs fresh dill, chopped
  • 2 Tbs green onions, thinly sliced
  • 1/2 cup crumbled goat cheese
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 tsp red pepper flakes
  • salt and pepper, to taste
Instructions
  1. Preheat oven 350 degrees. Grease a medium saucepan or iron skillet.
  2. Whisk together eggs in a large bowl, then add the rest of the ingredients and mix well.
  3. Pour ingredients into greased pan.
  4. Bake for 30-35 minutes or until cooked through in the middle
  5. Garnish with extra dill and green onions.

 

Leave a Reply

