N’Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

N'oatmeal Raisin Cookies

Who doesn’t love cookies?  Um, not me.

In fact, after going on the Paleo diet I think I’ve seen more delicious-looking dessert recipes than ever before, which has given me lots of opportunities to do a little happy dance around my kitchen.

I hope no one is watching.

And you know the best part?  You don’t have to use that icky, processed gluten-free flour.  I mean, seriously, that stuff still gave me stomach trouble so you know it’s not good for you.

Just like that gluten-free book by Elizabeth Hasselbeck…

I mean, substituting highly-processed food for the regular stuff just because it’s gluten-free?  “I’ll trade gluten for heavy doses of sugar, chemicals and MSG.”  No, thanks.

N'oatmeal Raisin Cookies

So when I was perusing (for the thousandth time) through my copy of the lovely Danielle Walker’s Against All Grain cookbook I came across her N’Oatmeal Raisin Cookies.  I knew I had to try these little gems.  And the best part is I’m the only one in my house who likes oatmeal raisin cookies.  And making them Paleo ensured that I would be the only one to touch them.

Bummer 😉

N'oatmeal Raisin Cookies

 

N’Oatmeal Raisin Cookies
Author: Christine @ Refined Tastes
Prep time: 15 mins
Cook time: 12 mins
Total time: 27 mins
Barely adapted from the fabulous Danielle Walker at Against All Grain: http://againstallgrain.com/2013/10/12/grain-free-oatmeal-raisin-cookies/
Ingredients
  • 1/4 cup ghee or high-quality grass fed butter
  • 1 large egg at room temperature
  • 1/3 cup honey
  • 1 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 4 tsp cinnamon
  • 3/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 1 cup almond flour
  • 2 Tbls coconut flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 2 tsp finely ground flaxseeds
  • 3/4 cup finely shredded, unsweetened coconut
  • 1/2 cup raisins
Instructions
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees
  2. Place the ghee and egg in a bowl of a stand mixer or use an electric hand mixer and cream for 1 minute on high.
  3. Add the honey and vanilla and mix for another minute, or until creamy.
  4. In a separate bowl, add the cinnamon, nutmeg, almond flour, coconut flour, baking soda, salt and flaxseeds and stir to combine.
  5. Slowly add the dry ingredients to the wet and mix for another minute, until combined. Scrape down the sides of the bowl then mix again for 30 seconds.
  6. Add the coconut and raisins, then stir until combined.
  7. Using a spoon or ice cream scoop, drop balls of dough the size of a golf ball onto a baking sheet lined with parchment paper.
  8. Place another sheet of parchment paper on top of the dough, then using a spatula, gently press down until they are roughly 1/4-inch thick.
  9. Bake for 12 minutes, until edges are lightly brown. Once out of the oven, leave on the cookie sheet for 5 minutes before transferring to a cooling rack.

 

Leave a Reply

